Pictured: (back row, l-r) Charles Evans, Lavonda Daniels, Rev. Pierre Crawford, Chief Deputy Secretary Reid Wilson, Justice Michael Morgan, Edward C. Robinson (front row, l-r) Angela Thorpe, Sylvia West, Dr. Valerie Ann Johnson), Deloris Rhodes, Dr. Tamara Holmes-Brothers, First Lady Kristin Cooper, Michelle Lanier, Marvin Arrington 

African American Heritage Commissioners

Commissioners are appointed to the NC African American Heritage Commission by the Governor and the General Assembly for three year terms.

Current Commissioners 

Listed in alphabetical order

  • Chair, Dr. Valerie Ann Johnson 
  • Vice Chair, Dr. Tamara Holmes Brothers 
  • Rev. Dr. Pierre Crawford (Washington County)
  • Hon. Pauline Hankins (Brunswick County)
  • Elder Fondella Leigh (Perquimans County)
  • Leslie McKesson, Ph. D. (Burke County)
  • Juanita Moore (Wilson County)
  • Deloris Rhodes (New Hanover County)
  • Robert Freeman II (Cabarrus County)
  • Tanzy B. Wallace (Cleveland County)